My Pal Bob

This guy, although we have never met, has had a bigger influence on me than most pastors I have had the (dis) pleasure to meet 🙂 I have had close “pastoral” friends that have been, for lack of a better word, lacking. They seem to start out ok, then they fall into the “job” mentality or the circle the wagons, it is “my” ministry and I will not share or “stay away”________ fill in the blanks because I have to protect my “job”

Another group of guys I LOVE to be around is the church planters forum at IESBA the first Saturday of the month, planters are different, they do not circle the wagon, the help each other out, they see the “vision” for the great commission as a requirement, not a suggestion. EVERY one of them gets it, it is the highlight of the month for me.

So , back to Bob, he on the other hand seems to have a real knack for nailing a thought , process, or idea.As I am struggeling to put together this weeks message, he once again pushed me over the hump. Some day I will get up his way and let him know he has impacted me, but for now I will just meditate on his last post, which I think all church planters should do, key points ….

4. When I have a completed draft, I ask myself the 5 questions:
Where in this message do I clearly point to Jesus?
Where in this message do I speak to non-Christians?
Where in this message do I speak to Christians?
Where in this message do I speak to the heart?
Where in this message do I give people something to do right now- rather than later…

Tone

Leave a Reply

