Deliver a (Sermon)like Steve Jobs

Interesting read, and some thoughtful points. I used most of these in my business presentations and many of the things I learned in the business world have transfered to the way I present my sermons. HERE is the story and here are the bullet points if you do not want to read the full article. I know some of the points below are contrary to the presentation of our message, please do not slam me for listing them, I just think there are some good points in the story and we should do all we can to present the Gospel in a pleasing format.

Tone

1. Set the theme.

2. Demonstrate enthusiasm.

3. Provide an outline.

4. Make numbers meaningful.

5. Try for an unforgettable moment.

6. Create visual slides.

7. Give ’em a show.

8. Don’t sweat the small stuff. Despite your best preparation, something might go wrong as it did during the keynote. Jobs was about to show some photographs from a live Web site, and the screen went black while Jobs waited for the image to appear. It never did. Jobs smiled and said, “Well, I guess Flickr isn’t serving up the photos today

9. Sell the benefit.

10. Rehearse, rehearse, rehearse.

Leave a Reply

