Mary-Mary

Mary Mary

mary-mary.jpg

“ Remember the long way that the Lord your God has led you ”

Ok, I have a new understanding of Moses’ forty year wondering. I often thought, why did he just not walk in a straight line for forty years, surely if he did he would have walked straight out of the Desert and right into Gods will. He did not, nether did I.

It was not for my lack of trying but it was from my lack of listening, I did not listen to or heed Gods voice. Like Moses though, I did finally pay attention, I did learn lessons, I did grow and mature. And finally at the end of my forty year wandering, it is finally coming to fruition, I finally am walking in the straight line, it will be a short time before I walk out of the Desert and into His land,

Rather than looking back to see the wasted years, the years of travel for the job, the years of distraction for personal advancement, the years of selfish indulgence, the years of missing yet another parent teacher conference, the years of missing the Scout meeting, you know what I mean. I look forward to what He is going to do. God has gratefully healed my memory for past missteps and He is pouring His Grace upon Grace in my life.

God is so at work in my life: sometimes this is as clear as glass; sometimes it is not clear at all. But knowing He is at work and I am not walking in circles but in a straight line makes it all worth the walk. Looking back at all the detours I have taken remind me of God’s grace at work in my life. The reasons in bold below.

Deuteronomy 8,2- 3 Remember the long way that the Lord your God has led you these forty years in the wilderness, in order to humble you, testing you to know what was in your heart, whether or not you would keep his commandments. He humbled you by letting you hunger, then by feeding you with manna, with which neither you nor your ancestors were acquainted, in order to make you understand that one does not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of the LORD”.

Oh, now the Mary Mary point to this post, Lyrics from “I just can’t give up now”

 

 

“There will be mountains

That I will have to climb

 

And there will be battles

 

That I will have to fight

 

But victory or defeat

 

It’s up to me to decide

 

But how can I expect to win

 

If I never try

 

 

I just can’t give up now

 

Come too far from where I started from

 

Nobody told me the road would be easy

 

And I don’t believe he brought me this far to leave me

 

 

Never said there wouldn’t be trials

 

Never said I wouldn’t fall

 

Never said that everything would go the way I want it to go

 

But when my back is against the wall

 

And I feel all hope is gone

 

I’ll just lift my head up to the sky

 

And say help me to be strong

