Elephants Recognize Themselves in Mirrors

elephant-mirror.jpgElephants Recognize Themselves in Mirrors

What do you see when you look in the mirror.

  • Genesis 1:27
    So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them.

Did God say oops,  I must have made a mistake I know he should look like a model, a perfect chin a set of biceps  that will get attention. His hair is a bit thin and I see a bald spot starting.

Oh look a little to much around the waist, and a zit right on his nose, I must have blown it on this one, Oh well I can just whip up another one.

Crazy, yep. The elephant looks in the mirror and sees an elephant, we look in the mirror and see what, fill in the blank

  • Fat
  • Failure
  • Ugly
  • skinny
  • Drunk
  • Smoker
  • Gay
  • Perfect
  • Rich
  • Poor
  • Black
  • White
  • Tattooed  looser
  • Business man Chique
  • GQ Perfect

When we take on the job of deciding what the image of God is, and how we can or should live up to that image I think we set ourselves  up for a major let down.

We were created in His image, we need to look at ourselves as His creation made as He sees fit. I can not change the image I was given but I can change the way I see it. I can see it through the reflective mirror of Jesus and His work, complete in what He has done. Complete in who He says I am.

Tone

Leave a Reply

